Four weddings… (and a Victoria)

P1210163
We’ve attended a few weddings this summer, and of course I make use of these occasions to add some dressy clothes to my wardrobe. Though I did wear the same dress a few times, because I think it’s such a waste to make something new every time and only wear it once or twice.  Like Tilly said: my life is not a cocktailparty, so I rather make practical clothes for every day life

That every day life of mine looks like this: a daily routine of household duties which I fulfill with love which I try to dash off as fast as I can. And the care for our two girls, whom overwhelm me with mucuous kisses (Majli), grab my legs with sticky fingers (Majli), want to try on some of my make-up (Isja), throw food on the floor when they’re done eating (Majli), and like to do crafts often, especially cutting miniscule paper scraps (Isja), and add thick layers of glue to everyting. Yes, everything (Isja).

You can imagine I’m glad if my clothes make it through the day spotless (dream on, Rachel…)

We zijn naar een aantal bruiloften geweest deze zomer, en natuurlijk grijp ik dit soort gelegenheden met beide handen aan om mijn kledingkast uit te breiden met mooie jurkjes. Een aantal keer droeg ik hetzelfde,want ik vind het zonde om steeds iets nieuws te maken wat ik maar af en toe draag. Zoals Tilly al zei: mijn leven is geen cocktailparty, dus maak ik liever praktische kleding voor het dagelijks leven.

Dat dagelijks leven ziet er bij mij ongeveer zo uit: een routine van huishoudelijke taken die ik met liefde vervul ik zo snel mogelijk probeer af te raffelen. En de zorg voor mijn kinderen die mij overstelpen met snotterige kusjes (Majli), met plakkkerige handjes mijn benen omklemmen (Majli), heel graag ook wat van mama’s make-up op willen (Isja), als ze klaar zijn met eten de korsten gewoon op de grond gooien (Majli), graag vaak en veel knutselen met een voorliefde voor het knippen van miniscule snippertjes (Isja) en een dikke laag pritt smeren op alles wat los en vast zit (Isja).

Je begrijpt dat ik al blij ben als mijn kleren aan het eind van de dag nog schoon zijn (blijven dromen, Rachel).

P1210142 P1210152
Back to the weddings. I always change clothes as late as I possibly can, to avoid panty hose runs. Sometimes we bring the kids to the grandparents, sometimes we have a babysitter. In that last case I give very clear instructions to hold Majli the moment we leave, otherwise she’ll grab my legs and, indeed… cause a run. I don’t lift her up anymore as well, because I’m afraid this will result in a snotty slobbery dress. I’m not a degenerated mother, I just don’t like stains on my Sunday best. Anyway, I’m not the worst mum, they do get a kiss and all. So Isja gets her lipstick after all…. Terug naar die bruiloften. Ik kleed me altijd pas op het laatste moment om, zodat de kans op een ladder in mijn panty tot een minimum beperkt wordt. Soms brengen we de kinderen bij opa en oma, soms komt er iemand hier thuis oppassen. In dat laatste geval instrueer ik degene die oppast om Majli vast te houden als we de deur uitgaan, omdat ze zich anders om mijn benen klemt en, inderdaad… een ladder veroorzaakt. Ik til haar ook niet meer op uit angst voor snot op mijn jurk, of iets anders rampzaligs. Ik ben geen ontaarde moeder, ik houd er gewoon niet van als mijn mooie kleren vies worden. Maar ik ben de beroerdste niet, ze krijgen nog wel een kusje hoor. Heeft Isja toch haar lippenstift…
P1210150
Some of you might have noticed, the pattern I used for this jacket is the Victoria Blazer from ByHandLondon. A lot of lovesongs have been sung over this pattern, so really, I don’t know what else to add. I love this blazer! Alright, I would’ve loved the sleeves to be lined as well. I’ve made a wearable muslin of the blazer, it was linen, and that one would’ve benefitted from a lined sleeve. I planned on doing that with this version. But both of the fabrics are rather thick, and I was afraid  the sleeves would become very heavy and bulky, so I decided against it. Sommigen hadden het misschien al gezien, maar het patroon van het jasje is de Victoria Blazer van ByHandLondon. Er is al zoveel lof gezongen over dit patroon, dat ik niet echt weet wat ik daar nog aan toe te voegen heb. Ik ben weg van deze blazer! Inderdaad, het zou mooier zijn als de mouwen gevoerd waren. Ik maakte een proefversie van de blazer, van linnen, waarbij een mouwvoering goed tot zijn recht zou zijn gekomen. Ik wilde dat dus gaan doen bij deze versie. Maar beide stoffen zijn vrij stevig en ik was bang dat de mouwen te volumineus zouden worden, dus zag ik er toch van af.
P1210156 P1210161
In the pictures I wear it with my red belladone dress (blogged here).

Looking through some of BHL’s pinterest boards I came across this pretty lady. And considering I just talked to you about panty hoses, I thought now is the appropriate moment to share this with you:

Op de foto’s draag ik de blazer met mijn rode belladone jurk (hier geblogd).

Terwijl ik wat van BHL’s Pinterestborden bekeek, kwam ik deze mooie dame tegen. En aangezien ik toch net georeerd heb over panty’s, lijkt dit me een geschikt moment om haar met jullie te delen:

This is what happens when you put panty hose
on a dog that looks like a polar bear.

Dit bericht werd geplaatst in finished projects, indie pattern company, personal, women's clothes en getagged met , , , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

4 reacties op Four weddings… (and a Victoria)

  1. Wendy zegt:

    The picture of the polar bear dog had me puzzled for a moment and after that it made me laugh really hard! Thanks for that!
    I love the jacket, that fabric is just awesome!

    Like

  2. Haha I do love the image of last minute kiddie restraint to protect your stockings! And that dog is hilariously creepy! Love the jacket 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: MMM14 week 1 & 2 + exciting news | Rachel In Red

Geef een reactie

