I made a swimsuit!

P1200849
Ik kan zelf niet geloven dat ik echt een badpak heb gemaakt. Een badpak! Het is niet iets wat ik al tijden ambieerde, maar ik zag er zoveel voorbijkomen in de blogosphere, dat ik ook verleid werd. Verleid ja, dat ging buiten mijn wil om. Bovendien verklaarde iedereen (ja, echt, iedereen!) dat het super eenvoudig was, dus dook (haha!) ik er ook in! I can’t believe that I actually sewed my own swimsuit! It is something I never thought I’d do. But since everyone else (yes, everyone else!) was declaring how easy it was and how much fun, I thought I might as well give it a shot.
P1200820 P1200851
Nadat ik het patroon had gekocht en mijn stof had besteld, deed ik er nog zeker twee weken over voordat ik er aan begon. Steeds pakte ik mijn stof en staarde ik naar het patroon, om het vervolgens weer in de envelop terug te doen. Bange schijterd ben ik he? After I ordered my supplies and bought the pattern, it took me about two weeks to finally get started on it. Every now and then I took out my fabric, stared at the pattern for a while and then put it back in the envelope. Chickenshit, I know.
P1200842
Nu ik het eenmaal gemaakt heb, weet ik echt niet waar ik zo bang voor was. Het is eerder het idee van een badpak maken dat me een beetje afschrikt denk ik. Want ik zweer dat het echt niet moeilijk is. Ik volgde Heathers sewalong op haar blog Closet Case Files. Haar isntructies zijn heel duidelijk, hoewel ik denk dat met een paar kleine aanpassingen een iets nettere afwerking bereikt kan worden. Dat doe ik bij de volgende versie, ik wil zowel view B als C nog maken. Het zal wel volgende zomer worden vrees ik… But honestly, now that I’ve made it, I don’t know what scared me so much. It’s merely the idea of making a swimsuit that puts me off. Because I swear: making it is actually super easy. I followed Heathers sewalong over at Closet Case Files. Her instructions are very clear, although I think it is easy to achieve a neater finish with some minor adjustments. I’m a sucker for a neat finish, so I will definitely try that with my next suit. I want to make both of the other views. Will probably be next year though…
il_570xN.473657481_d0gf
P1200850 P1200821
Het patroon vind ik fantastisch en ik ben Heather zo dankbaar dat ze het Bombshell patroon heeft gemaakt. Het is heel flatterend en ik voel me er goed in. Voordat ik het afmaakte twijfelde ik wel serieus of ik foto’s ervan op mijn blog zou zetten, want, nou ja…foto’s van mezelf … in een badpak! ….Op internet! Maar goed, het bedekt alles wat ik bedekt wil hebben 🙂 dus ik twijfel niet langer en klik op Publish! Hatsjikidee! The pattern itself is terrific and I’m so grateful that Heather created this Bombshell Pattern. It’s very flattering and I feel really good in it. Before I finished  it I was on the fence about whether or not I’d post pictures of it on my blog, because… you know… It’s me..in a bathingsuit! On the internet! But well… it has everyting covered I want covered, so I hesitate no longer and hit Publish! Yay!
P1200830 P1200834
Majli en ik hadden superveel plezier op het strandje. Al moet ik toegeven dat ik haar wel als attribuut heb gebruikt voor deze foto’s. Je begrijpt wel dat ik natuurlijk niet al te zelfingenomen over wil komen en plein publique… En een moeder die met haar kind speelt is minder raar dan een verwaande dame die de hele tijd poseert… toch?Heb je wel eens op drukbevolkte plaatsen geposeerd? en hoe vond je dat? Majli and I had a super fun time at the beach. Although I have to admit she was used as an attribute for these pictures. You know… I don’t want to be too self-satisfied in front of a public.
A mother playing with her child is a lot less weird than a self absorbed lady taking strange poses… right?Have you ever been posing on crowded places? How did it make you feel?
Dit bericht werd geplaatst in finished projects, indie pattern company, Uncategorized, women's clothes en getagged met , , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

22 reacties op I made a swimsuit!

  1. Heather Lou zegt:

    Gorgeous! I adore the print you chose! Thank you for the kind review.

    Like

  2. cristina zegt:

    What would you change to achieve a neater finish? I m in the middle of the swimsuit now… Your is lovely!

    Like

  3. rachelinred zegt:

    Ok, well, when sewing the elastic to the front leg opening, I would immediately sew about 2/3 of the way (untill the part where you need to actually pull the elastic tighter). This way your stitchline will not be unnesceseraly interrupted.
    Also, when finishing the top part, I would first baste the shoulder straps to the top, then fold it over, and then topstitch it all in one layer. The instructions call for attaching the straps after you’ve topstiched it, so i had to stich over my topstitching, which I don’t really like.
    Like I said, minor..!
    The three layers of serging seemed like a lot to me, but it’s fine. It shirrs anyway, so it doesn’t look bulky at all.
    Good luck on your version!

    Like

    • cristina zegt:

      Oh thanks Rachel! I already had problems with the bulky seams…and for the legs opening elastic, I will have to rip them off today, yesterday night I was somewhat unaware and sew ALL the elastic, when the instructions call for 1/3 only… 🙂

      Liked by 1 persoon

  4. gingermakes zegt:

    This looks fantastic! I love the print you used!

    Like

    • rachelinred zegt:

      Thanks, Ginger! ! They’re birds, It’s quite a large print, so I wasn’t sure if it woud work with al the shirring. But I’m so happy with it!

      Like

  5. Wendy zegt:

    Gorgeous swimsuit! I love big birds on fabric…
    I have been eyeballing the pattern all summer long but just bought a new swimsuit. Guess making my own will have to wait at least one more year…

    Like

  6. rachelinred zegt:

    Thanks, Wendy! You should totally make your own swimsuit though! It’s super easy and heaps of fun!

    Like

  7. Eline zegt:

    Wow, supergaaf! Lekker jaren ’50 ook, staat je goed!

    Like

  8. Maxine zegt:

    It looks great! Well done .

    Like

  9. Tilly zegt:

    Love it! Such a gorgeous version of the Bombshell. What an amazing fabric find!

    Like

  10. Tine zegt:

    Wauw! Zo mooi! Ik zou het ook heel eng vinden om daar aan te beginnen. Ik vind het almaar eng om aan een kledingsstuk te beginnen, omdat ik schrik heb dat het niet goed zal “vallen” op mijn lichaam.

    Je badpak is echt mooi!

    Like

  11. Love it! What a gorgeous swimsuit you’ve made & you must be super proud. Very stylish and fab fabric. I think your daughter is the perfect photo accessory, but also shows the suit in action!

    Like

  12. Eva zegt:

    ffieuw seg, jij kan ook een stukje naaien! Ik vind hem prachtig. Ik hou zo van die retro badpakken!

    Like

  13. It’s fantastic! I think the print makes it my fave version. I’ve enjoyed reading back through your makes, and also love your red Belladone dress – again one of my fave versions. I look forward to seeing what else you make!

    Like

  14. ooobop! zegt:

    Just gorgeous. I have seen a few of these but I have to say, yours just convinced me to buy the pattern!

    Like

  15. Maaike zegt:

    Ben trots op je! goed gedaan! xxx

    Like

  16. Pingback: Naaien: Hobby of zuinigheid? | Maak Het Met Rachel

  17. Pingback: Op stoffenjacht in Amsterdam (deel 1) | Maak Het Met Rachel

  18. Pingback: Gemaakt: Zooey bikini | Maak Het Met Rachel

  19. Pingback: Review: lingeriecursus bij Lijfgoed | Maak Het Met Rachel

Geef een reactie

